Sucks at Comforting

This morning when I woke up I saw a message from Chris. He told me in his message that a female friend informed him that she has a stage 3 cancer. He said he didn’t know what he should feel, but he felt shattered and lost of words.

Frankly, I was surprised he told me that because it was so out of the blue. I kinda felt he was a bit down thru his message, but wasn’t sure. It was 5.30am his time when he sent me that message. He was working on night shift so his working hours are odd. That’s why sometimes we don’t get to chat at night or he go radio silent on me. He is sleep deprived he told me and sometimes he needs to stay in his own head space, which I understand.

Anyway, coming back to his this morning message, I wasn’t very sure how to respond to him so I told him that I was sorry to hear the sad news and that I understand he feels a bit down, but he shouldn’t dwell on it. Instead he should think positive so that he can send his positive energy to his friend. I read an article about cancer patients who are positive have a better chance to fight this illness. Not sure if it is true, but I still told Chris that.

Honestly, I don’t know what to say to him or how to make him feel less down. I know it is devastating to know a friend has cancer, but at the same time it is also a fact. Feeling down   and worrying won’t help the cause. For me, the best is accept the fact and fight it with a positive attitude and thinking.

Anyway, I’m really not good at comforting people because I don’t what to say without coming across as insensitive or too over optimistic. I’m a positive person so it is hard for me to stay in a negative state of mind. Oh well…….I’m not going to bring up this topic anymore unless Chris does. He is an adult so he knows how to take care of himself and his feelings. I can’t be responsible for his feelings and I don’t want to.

He is presently in zombie state due to sleep deprived. His working life isn’t as fun as I thought as a pilot. Hmmm…..

 

Leave a Reply

