Orchids

I love orchids!! I love it because it is elegant, have interesting patterns, exotic, enduring and luxurious!  It will lasts between 4-8 weeks depending on the species as well as the environment it is being displayed. Each of the orchid has it own attractiveness and unique pattern and color as can be seen on the above photos. It look great by itself or put together a few stalks in a pot and it will look captivating.

Whenever I’m in a lousy mood, looking at the beautiful orchids will help to brighten up my day. I just enjoy the beauty this flower exude. I find that orchids have a calming and happy effect on me. Haha. I know I sounds silly, but it works for me. I can’t say that it works for other people.

Below are excepts about orchids which I think sum up this flower very well and also convey my feelings about this unique, sexy and captivating flower.

There’s something about the orchid that is both genteel and wild at same time. I dig that kind of duality within a single biological unit. I don’t know why, but the potential of both crazy and demure just sets me free. I suppose that’s why the orchid is a bigtime symbol of royalty and nobility. Consider kings and queens. They are in positions of power. They’re used to getting their own way. But they also have great responsibility. Same goes with the orchid. Like royalty, the orchid is required to be regal, lovely, beautiful and calm. But under the scenes, the orchid is a wild, sexy beast…and that is the nature of humankind (whether royalty or not).

The orchid puts her sexy parts all out there. Where other flowers cloak their reproductive goods within silky petals…orchid says: “Uh huh…here’s my sassy stuff, enjoy, love me, cherish me.” In fact, the orchid is so self-assured of her beautiful reproductive parts, that often she’s able to self-pollinate. What does this mean on a symbolic level? It talks about self love. Loving ourselves to such a degree that we can create our own offspring in the form of dreams, goals, art, projects, connections. I think of all the lessons the orchid shares with us, self-love is the most vital. 

Orchid is unabashed. She flaunts her stuff. She boldly expands her beauty. She emits her fragrance as if the world is depending on it. In fact, maybe the world is. We all owe orchids a big debt by sustaining bee populations. We also should show gratitude for the orchid’s ability to attracting butterflies.

While on that subject…orchids are sneaky babies. They purposefully cloak themselves to mimic the appearance of butterflies. Why? Because butterflies sustain life. A butterfly landing on the pollen-plush orchid will take that seed elsewhere, thus assuring the lineage of the orchid’s line. What does this say to us on a symbolic level? Maybe it tells us we should consider ways to attract our allies. Perhaps we can maneuver ourselves in better positions to insure our advantage and success. The orchid does not copy colors of butterfly for the sake of copy-catting. Nope. She does it to sustain and prolong her offspring. We can take the same cue. Don’t blend in – that’s not what orchid is saying – but DO get in the same groove with those who can help you on your path, and enhance your cause.

Orchid mimicry (matching colors of birds, bees, butterflies for the purpose of pollinating) reminds us we are big magnets. What is your energy emitting? Take stock of your thought-inventory. Your thoughts are energy. What kind of energy are you putting out? Flower meanings for the orchid is all about energy-output. Therefore,she asks you what kind of energy are you exuding. Negative? Positive? Self-destructive? Self-enhancing? Orchid asks us to remember we attract to ourselves the same energy we put out. In other words, if you’re a negative Nellie, you’re going to get negativity back. But if you’re a positive Polly…you guessed it…positivity will be at your doorstep.

If anyone wants to give me flowers as gift, just get me some beautiful, colourful and exotic orchids and I will be a very very happy woman 😀!! No roses please!!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

