Judgemental

Today I read a post about a 3.5 years boy who likes to wear sparkly tutu because it makes him feel beautiful and brave. His parents allows him to wear it because it is what the little boy want. After all he is only 3.5 years old. So one day they went for a stroll and a man came up to the little boy and his mum. The man told the little boy that his mum is a bad mum because she shouldn’t allow the little boy to wear the tutu as it was inappropriate. The man said it was an abused. And then the man proceeded to take a photo of the little boy and his mum with the intention of shaming them even though the mom asked the man not to take their photo. The mum then made a police report and the police took down their statement and told the little boy he looked cute in the tutu.

The above story not only illustrated but also reinforced to me that people are very very judgmental. We like to judge people on what they do, what they wear, what they say, how they live their life, who they date and et cetera. We like to impose our own set of belief onto people who don’t share the same belief as us. We want to push our own moral compass onto people who choose to live by their own moral guidelines. We are quick to judge when we meet people who don’t act, think or behave the same as us. We don’t take time to understand why they are different from us. We don’t give ourselves a chance to get to know people who are different from us. We jump to conclusion or assume we know what is right for those people. But how could we know what is right for them when we don’t even know what is right for ourselves!

I’m guilty of being a judgmental person when I was in my 20s’ and even up to early 30s’, but as I grew older, I got rid of my judgmental mindset. As I became more open-minded and learned to be my authentic self, I’m also learning to embrace and accept people for who they are. Is their life, their choice and their decision to live the way they see fit. But how many people can really do that – not be judgmental??? Very low percentage I’m sure.

I think the world will be a kinder and beautiful place if we all learn to be less judgmental, but more tolerant, accepting and open-minded. We have to learn to accept the fact that each of us are unique and different therefore we should encourage people to be their authentic self as much as possible. We should all be comfortable in our own skin and let our true self shine from inside out.

Beside if we judge, we will be judged too! Unless we are prepared to be judged and not be upset by other people judgment of us, we should learn to be non judgmental!! Life is already tough and challenging so less us all try to be more compassionate and tolerant towards each other 😍😍!

I will not judge because I’m not God and I definitely don’t want people to tell me how I should live my life, what I should say and how I should behave!! Maybe that’s the main reason why so many people confessed their secret to me. They know that their secret is safe with me, but most importantly I don’t pass judgment at all. That I can say with certainty!!

There’s a story behind every person. There’s a reason why they are the way they are. Think about that before you JUDGE someone!

Judging a person doesn’t define who they are, it defines who you are. 

 

 

Leave a Reply

