Gratitude

Yesterday I had a 4 hours part-time maid from Cambodia came to my place to clean up the house. Her name is Sinat and she speaks decent English, which I found pleasantly surprised. I told her what were the areas I needed her to clean and she set about to do her work speedily. She completed her tasks within the 4 hours time frame. I was happy with her work.

Her fee was RM73 or $17 for 4 hours and it is really cheap. Normally I will tip and yesterday was no exception. I gave her RM100 or $23 and she was so happy that she grabbed my right arm and thanked me profusely. Could see from her eyes and felt from her grabbing of my right arm that she was grateful to receive the extra.

I don’t mind paying more if I think a person deserves it. And a maid job isn’t easy and pretty. Although my place is generally pretty clean, but there were still cleaning needed to be done. She is working hard to earn a living and to support her family back in Cambodia. An additional few bucks wasn’t a big deal for me, but it meant a lot to her. It showed my appreciation for her hard work.

I always treat people with respect irregardless of the work they do or the role they play. I believe in being respectful towards each other as we are all human. Some people are just not as lucky and privilege as us, but that doesn’t mean they don’t deserve us to respect them. Without them doing the menial but necessary jobs such as cleaning and serving, we won’t be able to enjoy the lifestyle we want. Therefore we need to treat them with respect and gratitude as they help to make our life easier and more comfortable.

We should also be grateful to have these pool of service people doing the jobs we won’t want to do ourselves at all. Therefore, if someone does a good job, reward them with some extra to show our gratitude. In return, they will be more diligent and hardworking the next time you use their service again.

 

Leave a Reply

